Corona Virus Holy Week

Published: Wednesday, 08 April 2020

sunset cross350x197

When the Corona virus story meets the Passion story this Holy Week, Christians are being stretched in new and even newly unthinkable ways to understand afresh the core of their baptismal faith. A series of meditations by by Sarah Oakley.

 

Easter Week Readings

Published: Sunday, 05 April 2020
easter cross
 
Sun 5th April Matthew 21: 1-11
Mon 6th April John 12:1-11
Tue 7th April John 13: 21-33, 36-38
Wed 8th April      Matthew 26: 14-25
Thu 9th April John 13: 1-15
Fri 10th April
John 19:25-42
Sat 11th April Mathew 28: 1-10
Sun 12th April John 20:1-9
 

Farewell Morning Coffee

Published: Sunday, 29 March 2020

Many people joined us for online coffee this morning. We didn't record the whole session but you may enjoy this interview with Olive and Gary.

Reflection on Psalm 121

Published: Friday, 27 March 2020

Thanks to Liz Johnson for this artistic reflection with Psalm 121

Making a Mandala

Published: Friday, 27 March 2020

mandalaUse the quiet time for reflection while making your mandala.

On its most basic level, a mandala is a circular form with geometric patterns that builds off of a central point, most often used to connect with a spiritual power through meditation and contemplation.

Worship in Exile

Published: Thursday, 26 March 2020

The Italian philosopher Georgio Agamben has provoked widespread controversy following his recent comments on the corona virus epidemic. He suggested that the paralysis of his country shows that people no longer believe in anything but bare life. In Australia, it would seem that our most fundamental beliefs are focused on public health and the economy. A challenge that Agamben puts to us is his stark claim that “Bare life — and the danger of losing it — is not something that unites people, but blinds and separates them.”

Read the full article by Mark Brett and Rachelle Gilmour here.